The 2014 World Car of the Year Awards

Image Source
Image Source 

The brand-new Audi A3, the premium compact produced by the German automaker Audi, is the 2014 World Car of the Year. This is the second overall title for Audi in the ten year history of the World Car of the Year Awards, as the Audi A6 won the inaugural overall title in 2005.
The third generation of the Audi A3 overcame the challenge from 23 other cars, including the Mazda3 and the BMW 4 Series, to win the important and highly coveted award. A panel of 69 automotive journalists selected the car for its “silky smooth ride, superb choice of engines and four body styles.” The car’s technical competence, including its lightweight technology, drivetrain, mobile infotainment and driver assistance systems, was also noted as a strong feature of the vehicle. If you’re currently taking courses from an auto mechanic school or want to become a mechanic, the Audi A3 is an excellent model to study for an example of smart, contemporary car design.
Other winners include the Mercedes S-Class, voted the World Luxury Car of the Year, the Porsche 911 GT3 that took the World Performance Car of the Year, and the BMW i3 that won both the World Car Design and Green Car of the Year awards. To be eligible for the awards, a vehicle must be new and go on sale on at least two continents during the time period between January 1, 2013 and May 30, 2014.

History of the Audi

This is the 16th year of the A3. In 1996, the first generation of the model series was extremely innovative, establishing an entirely new market segment now known as the premium compact class. With the second generation, which followed in 2003, the brand extended its lead with the addition of a cabriolet to the familiar 3 door and sportback body styles.
Available as 3 door, sportback, cabriolet and sedan, the new Audi A3 is powered by a range of TFSI petrol and TDI diesel engines. Later this year, the A3 Sportback will also be available as an e-tron, whose plug-in hybrid drive enables journeys of up to 50 kilometres in all-electric mode. The buzz about this model is very positive so far, but let’s hope the new engine is durable, reliable and doesn’t require regular servicing from a professional with auto mechanic training.

Market dominance

With this win for the A3, Audi has maintained its position as the manufacturer with the most World Car of the Year titles. The brand had previously won three World Performance Car titles, two World Car Design of the Year titles and the inaugural World Car of the Year title. In total, Audi has won seven titles at the World Car of the Year Awards, an very impressive feat.
The previous World Car of the Year winners were:

  • 2005: Audi A6
  • 2006: BMW 3 Series
  • 2007: Lexus LS460
  • 2008: Mazda2
  • 2009: Volkswagen Golf 6
  • 2010: Volkswagen Polo
  • 2011: Nissan Leaf
  • 2012: Volkswagen Up
  • 2013: Volkswagen Golf 7

Form is submitting